













# National Webinar on Implementation of Access to Plant Genetic Resources and Benefit Sharing (ABS)

August 27, 2020 (Thursday) 2.00 p.m. Indian Standard Time (GMT + 5.5 h)

## Program

### INAUGURAL SESSION

Chair: **R.S. Paroda, President,** ISPGR & Chairman, TAAS Chief Guest: **T. Mohapatra,** Secretary, DARE & DG, ICAR

Guest of Honour: Juan Lucas Restrepo, DG, Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT

Time (IST)	Activity	Resources Persons/Speakers
14.00 – 14.05	Welcome	J.C. Rana, National Coordinator, UNEP- GEF Project
14.05 – 14.10	Context of Webinar	<b>Kuldeep Singh</b> , Director, ICAR-NBPGR
14.10 – 14.20	Remarks by Special Invitee	V.B. Mathur, Chairperson, NBA
14.20 – 14.35	Address by Guest of Honour	<b>Juan Lucas Restrepo,</b> DG, Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT
14.35 – 14.50	Address by Chief Guest	<b>T. Mohapatra</b> , Secretary, DARE & DG, ICAR
14.50 – 15.00	Remarks by Chair	R.S. Paroda, President, ISPGR and Chairman, TAAS

### **TECHNICAL SESSION - Perspectives on ABS Implementation**

Chair: **P.L. Gautam,** Former Chairperson, NBA & PPV&FRA Co-Chair: **R.C. Agrawal,** DDG (Education) & ND, NAHEP

15.05 – 15.20	ABS in PGRFA – Global experience	Vania C.R. Azevedo, Head of Genebank, ICRISAT
15.20 – 15.35	ABS in respect to conventional plant breeding under the BDA	Malathi Lakshmikumaran, Executive Director, Laxmikumaran & Sridharan Associates

15.35 – 15.50	Perspectives of seed sector on ABS	R. Kaundinya, DG, FSII
15.50 – 16.05	Respecting (agrobio) diversity, sharing benefits	<b>Shalini Bhutani</b> , Legal Researcher and Policy Analyst, FAO-India
16.05- 16.15	Remarks by <b>Co-Chair</b> and <b>Chair</b>	

### **PANEL DISCUSSION**

Chair: **T.R. Sharma**, DDG (Crop Science), ICAR Co-Chair: **Kuldeep Singh**, Director, ICAR-NBPGR

1 0		
16.20 – 17.20	Álvaro Toledo, Deputy Secretary, ITPGRFA Secretariat	
	S.K. Sharma, Former Director, ICAR-NBPGR	
	Bhag Mal, Secretary, TAAS	
	Sanjeev Saxena, ADG (IPTMU), ICAR	
	R.K. Tyagi, Coordinator, APAARI/APCoAB	
	K.S. Varaprasad, Former Director, IIOR	
	K.P. Raghuram, Technical Officer (Benefit Sharing), NBA	
	Neeti Wilson, Partner, Anand & Anand	
	P. Narayanan Unny, Progressive Farmer, Navara Eco Farm	
	Remarks by Co-Chair and Chair	

### **CONCLUDING SESSION**

Chair: R.S. Paroda, President, ISPGR & Chairman, TAAS

Co-Chairs: V.B. Mathur, Chairperson, NBA

17.20 - 17.40	General Discussion	
17.40 - 17.55	Concluding Remarks	Co-Chair and Chair
17.55 - 18.00	Vote of Thanks	<b>B. Sarath Babu,</b> Councillor (SZ), ISPGR

Convenors: J.C. Rana (Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT) and Anuradha Agrawal (ISPGR)

**Moderator**: Sunil Archak (ISPGR)

Rapporteurs: Pratibha Brahmi (ICAR-NBPGR) and Rakesh Singh (ISPGR)

Facilitators: Sonal Dsouza (Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT); Vijay Mandal (ICAR-NBPGR)