Germplasm Field Day on Wheat and Barley on 27 March, 2018

Date Posted: 31-03-2018

The Germplasm Field Day on Wheat and Barley was organized at ICAR-NBPGR Farm,Issapur, New Delhi on 27 March 2018. The field day was attended by forty-five participants from 11 organizations namely ICAR-IIWBR, Karnal; ICAR- IARI, New Delhi; ICAR- NRCPB, New Delhi; ICAR-VPKAS, Almora; ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi; IARI-RS, Indore; GBPUAT, Pantnagar; SDAU, Vijapur; CSAUAT, Kanpur; CSKHKV, RWRC, Malan; Jamia Hamdard, New Delhi. Dr. Ashok Kumar, Principal Scientist & Head, Division of Germplasm Evaluation, ICAR-NBPGR welcomed the participants and informed about the nature of germplasm being grown at NBPGR Farm, Issapur. Dr. Kuldeep Singh, Director, ICAR-NBPGR emphasized the importance of germplasm and field days for their effective utilization. He also expressed his interest in effective collaboration for trait specific evaluation and utilization of germplasm by NARS. Dr. Jyoti Kumari and Dr. Vikender Kaur arranged field visit where 2820 accessions of wheat and 2440 accessions of barley were grown for characterization and evaluation. In addition, participants also visited the trials of drought (933 acc.) and terminal heat stress (569 acc.) of wheat. The participants examined the material critically and selected germplasm of their choice according to their breeding objectives. During feedback and interaction session, the participants appreciated the efforts of ICAR-NBPGR in showcasing the variability and trait specific germplasm at appropriate stage. The detailed discussion was held on issues like utilization of wheat landraces for breaking yield plateau, indenting of germplasm by public institutions, collection of barley landraces from unexplored area, evaluation in wheat and barley germplasm against biotic stresses (rust, foliar blight and powdery mildew disease) and abiotic stresses (drought, terminal heat and salinity) in collaborative mode. Dr. Jyoti Kumari, Principal Scientist, Division of Germplasm Evaluation and Member, Organizing committee proposed the vote of thanks.

(Source: Dr Ashok Kumar, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi)