Board of Directors, Global Plant Council

Date Posted: 11-05-2020

Prof. KC Bansal, Former Director of the National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources (ICAR), and Professor (Molecular Biology and Biotechnology) at the National Institute of Plant Biotechnology, IARI campus inducted as Member, Board of Directors, Global Plant Council.

The Global Plant Council

The Global Plant Council (GPC) is a coalition of national, regional and international societies representing plant, crop, agricultural, and environmental sciences across the globe, representing thousands of experts. GPC promotes plant science across borders and disciplines: it aims to support those directly involved in research, but also in education and training, to increase awareness of the key role of plant research in science and society.

The GPC’s mission:

  • Facilitate the development of plant science for global challenges;
  • Foster international collaborations, and enable the effective use of knowledge and resources;
  • Provide an independent and inclusive forum to bring together all those involved in plant and crop research, training and education.

Board of Directors

  • President: Prof Ros Gleadow, Monash University, Australia
  • Past-president: Prof Bill Davies, Lancaster Environment Centre, UK
  • Chair: Prof Barry Pogson, Centre of Excellence in Plant Energy, Australian National University, Australia
  • Treasurer: Prof Deena Errampalli, Past-president of Plant Canada, Canada

Board members:

  • Prof Yusuke Saijo, Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST), Japan
  • Prof. KC Bansal, Former Director, National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources (ICAR), Pusa, New Delhi, India
  • Prof Francisca Blanco-Herrera, President of the Chilean Society of Plant Biology, Chile
  • Katherine Denby, University of York, UK
  • Prof Matthew Reynolds, CIMMYT, Mexico
  • Prof Weihua Tang, CAS Center for Excellence in Molecular Plant Sciences, Shanghai, China

Contact details:; M: 9999105667

(Source:  Dr Kuldeep Singh, Director, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi)