## PLANT GERMPLASM REGISTRATION COMMITTEE

(Indian Council of Agricultural Research)

## ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources (NBPGR), New Delhi

## Proceedings of the $XXXIII^{rd}$ Meeting of Plant Germplasm Registration Committee (PGRC) held at NBPGR, New Delhi

(December 7, 2015)

The **XXXIII**<sup>rd</sup> meeting of PGRC was held on **December 7, 2015** from 02:30 hrs onwards in the Dr H.B. Singh Committee Room, NBPGR New Delhi. The following members/invitees were present:

1.	Dr JS Chauhan	ADG (Seeds), ICAR, New Delhi	Chairman
2.	Dr KC Bansal	Director, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi	Member
3.	Dr T Janakiram	ADG (Hort.), ICAR, New Delhi	Member
4.	Dr Indu Sharma	Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research (IIWBR), Karnal, Haryana	Member
5.	Dr Dhiraj Singh	Director, Directorate of Rapeseed-Mustard Research (DRMR), Sewar, Bharatpur, Rajasthan	Member
6.	Dr Nageshwara Rao	ICAR-Indian Institute of Millets Research (IIMR) Rajendranagar, Hyderabad, Telangana	Member
7.	Dr AK Roy	Project Director, AICRP-Forage Crops, ICAR-Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute (IGFRI), Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh	Member
8.	Dr Punit Mohan	Representative of Director, ICAR-Central Institute for Cotton Research (CICR), Post Bag No 02, Shankar Nagar, Nagpur, Maharashtra	Member
9.	Dr Sanjeev Gupta	Project Coordinator, AICRP on MULLaRP ICAR-Indian Institute of Pulses Research (IIPR), Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh	Member
10.	Dr VV Singh	Principal Scientist, Directorate of Rapeseed-Mustard Research (DRMR), Sewar, Bharatpur, Rajasthan	Special invitee
11.	Dr Prabhakar	Principal Scientist, Centre on Rabi Sorghum, Directorate of Sorghum Research, Shelgi, Solapur, Maharashtra	Special invitee
12.	Dr JC Rana	Head, Division of Germplasm Evaluation, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi	Special invitee
13.	Dr Anjali Kak Koul	Principal Scientist, Division of Germplasm Conservation, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi	Special invitee
14.	Dr RK Tyagi	Head, Division of Germplasm Conservation, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi	Member Secretary

Dr JS Sandhu, DDG(CS) and Chairman, PGRC could not attend the meeting due to some urgent work and deputed Dr JS Chauhan, ADG (F&FC), ICAR to chair the meeting. Dr KC Bansal, Director, NBPGR, welcomed the Chairman and members of PGRC and thanked council for reposing faith in NBPGR for serving as a nodal agency for plant germplasm registration activity. Dr Tyagi informed that a committee has been constituted for developing guidelines for the registration of horticultural crops. The minutes of the XXXII<sup>nd</sup> meeting of PGRC that were circulated to all the members were adopted as such after the approval of the Chairman.

Following recommendation emerged during the discussion in PGRC meeting:

1. Proper work plan should be developed for DNA Fingerprinting all the registered germplasm and the source of funding should also be explored and progress to be presented in next PGRC meeting.

A total of 68 proposals (43 new and 25 revised) were considered for registration along with comments received from the respective PD/PC or experts to ascertain their unique feature(s) and potential values, which formed the basis for registration. Finally, 30 (23 new and 7 revised) proposals belonging to 13 species were approved for registration. For 17 proposals the committee suggested resubmission with additional data or sought clarifications which may be considered in next PGRC meeting, other proposals were found lacking novelty/uniqueness with regard to the proposed trait(s), therefore, not approved. Each proposal was discussed in detail and recommendations of PGRC for each proposal has been summarized in the enclosed table.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair and other members.

Yours sincerely

(R.K. Tyagi)

Member Secretary Plant Germplasm Registration Committee National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources Indian Council of Agricultural Research Pusa Campus, New Delhi – 110 012