PLANT GERMPLASM REGISTRATION COMMITTEE

(Indian Council of Agricultural Research)
ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources (NBPGR),
New Delhi

Proceedings of the XXXVIIIth Meeting of Plant Germplasm Registration Committee (PGRC) held at ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi (June 02, 2018)

The **XXXVIII**th meeting of PGRC was held on **June 02, 2018** from 09:00 hrs. onwards in the Dr H. B. Singh Committee Room, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi. The following members/invitees were present:

1.	Dr. AK Singh	DDG (CS)-Acting, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi	Chairman
2.	Dr. IS Solanki	Former-ADG (F&FC), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi	Member
3.	Dr. DK Yadava	ADG (Seeds), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi	Member
4.	Dr. Kuldeep Singh	Director, ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources, Pusa Campus, New Delhi	Member
5.	Dr. P Manivel	Director, ICAR-Directorate of Medicinal & Aromatic Plants Research, Anand, Gujarat	Member
6.	Dr. AK Roy	Project Co-ordinator, AICRP on Forages, ICAR-Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh	Member
7.	Dr. Sanjeev Gupta	Project Coordinator, AICRP on MULLaRP, ICAR- Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh	Member
8.	Dr. BS Tomar	Head, Division of Vegetable Science, ICAR-Indian Institute of Agricultural Research, Pusa Campus, New Delhi	Member
9.	Dr. BC Patra	Representative of Director, ICAR-National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack, Odisha	Member
10.	Dr. KH Singh	Representative of Director, ICAR-Directorate of Rapeseed-Mustard Research, Bharatpur, Rajasthan	Member
11.	Dr. Arun Kumar	Representative of Director, ICAR-Directorate of Rapeseed-Mustard Research, Bharatpur, Rajasthan	Member
12.	Dr. BS Gotyal	Representative of Director, ICAR-Central Research Institute for Jute & Allied Fibres, Barrackpore, West Bengal	Member
13.	Dr. Ravish Chatrath	Representative of Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research (IIWBR), Karnal, Haryana	Member

14.	Dr. MIS Gill	Additional Director of Research, Horticultural and Food	Special
		Science, Punjab Agricultural University,	invitee
		Ludhiana, Punjab	
15.	Dr. Ashok Kumar	Head, Division of Germplasm Evaluation,	Special
		ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources,	invitee
		Pusa Campus, New Delhi	
16.	Dr. Anjali Kak Koul	Principal Scientist, Division of Germplasm	Special
		Conservation, ICAR-National Bureau of Plant	invitee
		Genetic Resources, Pusa Campus, New Delhi	
17.	Dr. Veena Gupta	Head (Acting), Division of Germplasm Conservation,	Member
	_	ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources,	Secretary
		Pusa Campus, New Delhi	-

Dr AK Singh, DDG (CS-Acting), Chairman, PGRC chaired the meeting. Dr Kuldeep Singh, Director, ICAR-NBPGR and Dr. Veena Gupta, Member Secretary, PGRC welcomed the Chairman and members of PGRC. Dr AK Singh emphasized that efforts should made to enhance the registration of trait specific germplasm. Dr DK Yadava appreciated the efforts of NBPGR in registering the trait specific germplasm.

The minutes of the XXXVIIth meeting of PGRC that were circulated to all the members were adopted as such after the approval of the Chairman.

Following recommendations emerged during the discussion in PGRC meeting:

- A soft copy of the proposals to be considered in the PGRC Meeting should be sent to the members prior to the meeting.
- For expert comments the proposals should be sent to experts in other institutes and to the respective ADGs.
- Guidelines of the Plant Germplasm Registration should be modified. A committee was constituted to develop the guidelines for registration of trait-specific germplasm of perrenial and bienneial crops species, the draft of the same to be prepared and to be put in next PGRC meeting for discussion/approval.

1.	Dr. AK Singh	DDG (Horticulture), ICAR, New Delhi	Chairman
2.	Dr.T Janakiram	ADG (Hort.I), ICAR, New Delhi	Member
3.	Dr WS Dhillon	ADG (Hort.II), ICAR, New Delhi	Member
4.	Dr Kuldeep Singh	Director, ICAR-NBPGR	Member
5.	Dr MR Dinesh	Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Horticultural	Member
		Research, Bengaluru, Karnataka	
6.	Dr P Manivel	Director, ICAR-Directorate of Medicinal and	Member
		Aromatic Plants Research, Boriavi, Anand,	
		Gujarat	
7.	Dr MIS Gill	Additional Director of Research, Horticultural	Member
		and Food Science, Punjab Agricultural	
		University, Ludhiana, Punjab	
8.	Dr Anjali Kak Koul	Principal Scientist, ICAR-National Bureau of	Member
		Plant Genetic Resources, Pusa Campus, New	Secretary
		Delhi	

A total of 82 proposals received for registration. Out of that 28 reverted for several reasons and 54 were considered for registration along with comments received from the respective PD/PC or experts to ascertain their unique feature(s) and potential values, which formed the basis for registration. Finally, 46 proposals belonging to 21 species were approved for registration. For two proposals the committee suggested resubmission with additional data or sought clarifications which may be considered in next PGRC meeting. Other proposals 6 were found lacking novelty/uniqueness with regard to the proposed trait(s), therefore, not approved. Each proposal was discussed in detail and recommendations of PGRC for each proposal has been summarized in the enclosed table.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair and other members.

Yours sincerely
Vere Sure 2/7/18

(Veena Gupta)

Member Secretary

Plant Germplasm Registration Committee ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources Indian Council of Agricultural Research Pusa Campus, New Delhi-110 012