Director, NBPGR

Dr. Gyanendra Pratap Singh joins as the Director of ICAR-NBPGR

Dr. Gyanendra Pratap Singh, a well-known wheat breeder, took over the charge of Director of National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources on 28 October 2022. Prior to this, he was leading the ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat & Barley Research, Karnal, since 2016.

Dr GP Singh has a vast experience of about three decades working in ICAR. He has been a wheat breeder at IARI as Senior Scientist (2001-2008) and Principal Scientist (2009-2016) with a focus on abiotic stress and physiological phenotyping with the help of marker assisted methodologies.

His enormous contributions have been recognized with many awards and honours including: Dr. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, 2015; Dr. Nanaji Deshmukh Team Award, 2018; BGRI Gene Stewardship Award, 2018; Dr. AB Joshi Memorial Award, 2020; Dr Amrik Singh Cheema Memorial Award, 2019; Agricultural Leadership Award by National Educational Empowerment and Development Foundation, 2019; Outlook Outstanding Scientist Award, 2020; Dr. B.P. Pal Gold Medal Award, 2016; V.S. Mathur Memorial Award 2014; Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding, New Delhi; AISA National Award for Outstanding Leadership in Agriculture, 2019; Best Scientist Award Young Farmers Association, 2019; Dr. G B Deodikar Memorial Oration Award, Agharkar Research Institute, Maharashtra Association of Cultivation of Science, 2020; Mahendra Samridhi Award, 2016 and 2020.

Dr Singh is a fellow of NAAS (2015); Society of Advancement of Wheat Research; Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding; Society for Scientific Development in Agriculture and Technology.

His leadership will be crucial to enhance the core functions of ICAR-NBPGR as well as to provide new roles supporting mitigation of adverse effects of climate change on Indian Agriculture.